Thoughts on the Satoshi Kon show

So, I’ve had a bit of time to think about the Lincoln Center Paprika/Satoshi Kon show.

First thing I have to say is that Paprika looks absolutely fantastic in 35mm.  I gained a new appreciation for the film and what it does visually through this.  I usually tell people to always go to the theatre to watch films and this reafirms that viewpoint.  Paprika is a visual masterpiece.

Now, after Paprika screened, we sat down (or remained seated) as Satoshi Kon come out and fielded questions from the host (whose name I forget).  I really enjoyed seeing Satoshi Kon in person.  That being said, I have to say that the host had very weak questions for him.  Probably the biggest problem was how little the Host obviously knew about the subjects of animation, Japanese culture and the films that we were discussing. His questions were never such that could yield enlightening answers.  One’s answer is always as good as your question.

My disappointment may be my own mistake.  I felt this gathering would be filled with individuals who knew more about animation and film making in general.  Instead it was more of a general appreciation of his films.  During the open Q&A, many people asked Satoshi Kon very general questions about social issues in Japan.  While it was interesting to hear Kon discuss these topics, I felt like we could have asked more questions that related to his actual film making rather than say, what he thought of the Akihabara massacre a few weeks ago.

Even still, I did manage to get some tidbits from him that I thought were interesting and overall I really enjoyed seeing Kon talk about himself and his ideas.  A little more planning and research on the host’s side could have made an already fun time an enlightening one.  C’est la vie.

~ by Christos on June 29, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
