News and Reviews!

Oh, that rhymes!

So, I saw Wall-e today.  I can only say that it is a fantastic film.  It’s incredible in every way.  I think it is some of the best storytelling Pixar has ever done.  The jokes are smart, the characters are motivated and real and best of all it finally feels like we are moving away from the ‘gags-for-kids’ approach to animation.   I can’t say enough good things about this film.  It amazed me over and over again.  Please, do yourself a favor and go watch it.

Having said that, Wall-e got me thinking about my current thesis film.  I got home writing down a shotlist of my film.  When I finished, I sat there thinking “wheres the motivation for this character?” “What am I trying to say?” “Why is she doing all this and why should anyone care?”

Basically I realized that I haven’t been too happy with the idea of my film.  I havn’t been inspired by it and I haven’t really understood where I’m trying to go with it.  There are many unanswered questions and to be honest, I don’t feel like I will ever answer them.  The story/characters are just too unmotivated to mix them in some meaningful way.  I guess I thought the idea would be good visually.  It would be different and fun to look at.  But I realize now, especially after watching Paprika (again) and Wall-e, that visuals can only take you so far.  At some point you get use to the visuals and the story stands tall again.  That is when my current thesis would have fallen apart.

For the reasons above (and probably a few others I’m forgetting) I’ve decided to change my thesis idea into one that I’ve been heavily invested in for a long time.  It’s one I thought I would do after college on my own time.  Thinking about it now though, I think it’s perfect for my thesis.  It’s a shorter film, so I can ramp up the quality.  It’s a strong visual piece but more importantly, it has a strong story.  It says something.  It has characters with motivation, feelings and thought.  I think it’s perfect for my thesis, and over the next few days I’m going to shift my efforts into this idea.

I’ll have to re-propose my idea to a board at R.I.T. but I think the idea will pass.  It’s simpler and the story is more solid.  I know I haven’t told you what the idea is just yet, but I will leave you with one image.

RAM

~ by Christos on July 1, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
