Monkey

I had to make a post about this album because it’s the album of the year for me.  It’s a soundtrack to the stage musical Monkey: Journey to the west.  Performed by Damon Albam of Gorillaz fame along with the UK chinese ensemble.

Musically, this album is one of the most impressive I’ve heard in quite some time.  It’s powerful, imaginative and terrifyingly sorrowful at times.  I’ve always loved Damon’s work but I really think this is something special.  My only wish is that I could see the stage musical at some point.

Anyway, check out the album.  I’m sure that you won’t regret it.

~ by Christos on November 1, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
